TIOcoop spacer TIOcoop spacer TIOcoop
Game Menu New

NovaHQ Top 50



Community Forums › Mods › General Mod Chat › Lighting
Lighting

Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  General Mod Chat

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 391
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:36 pm
Post subject: Lighting

Been a while since i posted anything
I got back into the editor and worked out lighting the other day
I will prob do a tutorial on it shortly
This is a car i imported and setup for JO/DFX2

A quick police car with flashing lights attached to the vehicle
It drives and siren comes on when you move
Also has a horn button for the busy streets lol

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
tedsmelly
2LT
2LT


Joined: Oct 28, 2013
Posts: 11
Location: Qld Australia
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:10 am
Post subject: Re: Lighting

Nice work Blade. I am glad you are still making models. It's a big learning curve but well worth it.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 391
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:27 pm
Post subject: Re: Lighting

Thanks Ted, i have been working on a few buildings as well i will show case shortly just want to get some of the bugs out of what i have already done in the past.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 391
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 7:20 am
Post subject: Re: Lighting

Ok rather than start a new topic i will add the info here instead.

Lighting
There are a few types of lighting, one is illuminate or omni lighting
I will cover illuminate today

Flashing Lights are done the same as Rotating Pictures which i have already shown before.

Ok we need 2 images about 64px x 64px, 1 x Red 1x Blue.
Name the images flash01.tga and flash02.tga

Open 3DMax and make a square 1m x 1m x 1m
Add a texture to the box say flash02.tga
Save and Export as ASE




Open the SuperOED, import the ASE you just made.
Go to Edit>Materials. On the right you have
Shader Selection - If you change this to "Boring, single texture, opaque, selflum" it will illuminate the image.
You will see a new option appear RGB Gen
Click on it, scroll to the second last one on the list "Set Control Register"
Next you see 2 black boxes Start and Finish, click on them can change to a white color or anything to suit your purpose.

Parameters
- Tick 2 Sided and Animated to add the second image
Texture (Animated) - First you will see Frame, click on it and change to 2.
Next is Rate, click on it and change to 100 (100ms) this will made the images rotate fast like flashing lights
Diffuse 1 will be the original image flash02 and change Diffuse 2 to flash01.tga
Now Export the flashing lights as say FlashingL.3di
Pack it into the .pff and add the new FlashingL info to the items.def and pack it as well.




So what we have done is tell it to illuminate the 2 images, rotate them at 100ms.
In the clip below i have added 2 boxes one on the left is illuminated and one on the right is not, just flashing images

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 391
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:40 am
Post subject: Re: Lighting

Omni Lighting

Omni lighting is used mostly indoors for buildings.
If you make a model building with an interior it will need omni lighting for it or it will be all black/dark inside at night.

Open 3DMax, import your building, click the light icon.
Click on Omni button.
On the right you have the options to set it up.
General Parameters
Make sure the first option is ticked Targ. Dist:
Intensity/Color/Attenuation
You will see Far Attenuation, tick both of those now adjust the distances
For Use Start I set it at 1.0m
For Show End I set it at 10m
This depends on the size of the interior your trying to light up, sometimes you will need 2 or more lights to cover it properly



Add you light and raise it to where you want it
Now we need to change the name of the light to LP01Light01
So you now have on the left side
Save and Export as ASE

Open the SuperOED import the ASE you just made
Click on Edit>Lighting Sources
You should see LP01Lighting01 on the left and options on the right
Click on Color Gen
Scroll to the second last listing and select Set Control Register
Change the Start value to White or what ever color you want the glow to be.
At the bottom control register you want to change it to UPL_INTENSITY and click ok.
Save and Export 3di



I intensified the light for the image below to show a stronger light for effect purposes.



Below is a Street Light with and illuminated image for light bulb and a Free Spot light added, a Free Spot light you can change the length, width, intensity of it.

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  General Mod Chat
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT + 10 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Delta Force Xtreme 2
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster
copyright@nova-outpost.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy